In My Apron

Cook. Sew. Create. Heal

Chocolate Cake made with Chickpeas?????? February 12, 2010

It  is truly unbelievable!  Healthy, beautiful, delicious what more could I ask for.

One day while searching for a brownie recipe promoted on Dr. Oz’s show that’ made with black beans I came across this chocolate cake recipe.

Since I am trying to convert my household to strictly whole grains the “flourless chocolate cake” caught my eye.  Then as I read the recipe, I couldn’t believe my eyes that chickpeas was the main ingredient.  Chickpeas are a staple in my pantry.  I love making humus and my family enjoys eating it when I do.

No sooner did I print the recipe off, put my apron on and I was on my way to making my first chocolate cake with chickpeas.

The cake is best made in a food processor, a larger one (not the little ones good for chopping one onion).

You dump all the ingredients (all 4 of them), into the food processor, give it a whirl for a minute or so and there you have it, yummy cake batter.

Pop it in a greased 9″ springform pan for 40 minutes and you are done. Chocolate nirvana.

Flourless Chocolate Cake

1- 15oz. can chickpeas (garbanzo beans) rinsed and drained

3/4 c. sugar (I use Splenda, same amount)

4 eggs

1 tsp. baking powder

Mix all ingredients together in food processor until smooth, about 1 minute.

Bake in greased 9″ springform pan in preheated 350 degree oven for 40 minutes.

 Decadent, very chocolately and moist. I like it better when it is cold from having been refrigerated.

4 YUMS!

 

Leave a Reply

